I was trying to comprehend what I was being told.

“Today is your last day…” It all kind of goes blank after that.

All I knew was that I was being let go. Or, to be blunt about it, I was being fired.

Oh boy that’s a heavy word.

That was a week ago. You go through the process of trying to process what went wrong.

Was it you? Was it them? Was it how they viewed you? Was it how you viewed them?

Ugh.

If a feelings charts existed, I would have hit all of them. Hate, anger, sorrow and everything in between.

It hasn’t been all bad. In fact, there is a lot of good that comes from these things.

My wife has been my biggest supporter through all of this. Keeping me positive and motivated.

Also, to borrow a line from country artist Tracy Lawrence, you find out who your friends are. The outreach has been tremendous. A lot of people are trying to help.

I have also realized that my passion to write will not subside. (Type actually. They call it writing but no one has really written anything since, like, the 1980s.)

So, I’m going to continue to write. Beautiful thing about this day and age is anyone with a computer and an Internet connection can share an opinion.

Nobody told me I had to stop doing this. No one has killed my dream.

I’m not doing this for clicks or views or whatever millennial term we associate with blog posts. I’m doing this because 1) my wife encouraged me to continue writing and 2) it helps exercise the skill.

I hope those that do choose to read this enjoy what I write about.

Moments after I was told I no longer had a job, I came across a quote from Martin Luther King Jr.

The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.

Time to find out what kind of man I am.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Life Happens

  1. That which doesn’t kill you, Will make you stronger.
    You’re young, you’re intelligent and educated.
    Don’t be hasty, find your way to your true passions.
    I enjoyed your view of the life change.
    Remember this, any burned bridge, can never be crossed again. Choose how,who and what you do and associate with wisely. Your character and faith will see you to the next adventure.

    Like

  2. Wonderfully said. I have been down that road as well. At a school where I taught in South Dakota, I just got a letter that said my contract would not be renewed. No reason, no discussions with the department chair, nothing. Now I am at the best school ever – NDSU. You will get through – continue with your dream!

    Like

  3. I enjoyed listening to your contributions/perspectives on KFGO, my guess is, there were budget cuts and you were in the line of fire, Which is unfortunate. You will no doubt land on your feet as you already seem to be. Good luck, I look forward to hearing more from you back on the airwaves soon.

    Like

  4. What devastating news to hear as a young man with a new bride and young family. How frustrating to be fired and not given the courtesy of being told why. May the words of those who are lending you support, inspire you to work thru this and find a brighter day in your future. Just as you let us know you were fired, please grant us the joy to let us know when you are hired. You left a positive impression on many people. Be assured there are people keeping you in their thoughts and prayers for a new challenge in life.

    Like

  5. I have enjoyed hearing you on kfgo since the day you started there, hope you end up someplace I can listen to you, been a kfgo listener for ever, starting to wonder about that place, you will be fine. Good luck.

    Like

  6. It is very sad and disconcerting to hear this news. Keep your head high and look to continue to find your passion.

    Like

  7. It is a tough deal. Grandma or Gunder have both said another door will open. not what one wants to hear but as an older one I can say it is true. I sometimes get shoved kicking and screaming inside (one must not scream out loud of course but anyway you get the idea. it will be fun to see where your talent gets placed. you will do just fine
    Keep us posted. Love you

    Like

  8. Sorry to find out about your job Daniel, keep your up beat attitude and you will do fine. I`’ll be watching your progress, or should I say read you progress. Happy typing.

    Like

  9. Being let go is never a fun thing. I have been shown the door in the worst way at two jobs I had Kum and Go and Super America. The best thing to do Dan take a week off get things together hit the door running.

    Like

Leave a comment